From Here to There: Writing Under Pressure at Write It Sideways

Timing is everything.

It’s the weekend, I’m playing Single Parent for the next few days, and my guest post, a Finalist in the Write It Sideways Blogging contest, is up. The topic is one that I grapple with on a daily basis: life as Mother and a Writer.

“I love it when my kids get hold of my camera. Really.

Their photos serve as a study of daily life, and, for a brief moment in time, I see the world through their eyes.”

“The Dilemma of the Mother Writer.”

Click on over, take a peek, leave a comment.

And, Happy Writing to all you Mamas out there!

10 responses to “From Here to There: Writing Under Pressure at Write It Sideways

  1. I love that photo. And happy writing to you too, I’m off to visit Write It Sideways. Have a great weekend.

  2. Liked your post. Love the photos/videos my kids make πŸ™‚
    I had to make a rule for myself that unless I was under a heavy deadline, I only wrote while the kids are in school/hubby’s at work. If I don’t keep this rule I turn into the ugly Snapping Mother Monster.
    During the summer we go to the pool a lot and that’s when I write. If I don’t write at all, I turn into the Snapping Writer Monster. I learned the hard way I have to balance my life.

    • Taffy, I try to follow the same rule as you, but oh-so-often my writing self butts into the scene and demands attention. Every day offers a new start, though! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  3. I love your writing. I love that you pluck the thoughts right out of my head and find such an eloquent way to put them down on paper. I am not frequent enough to call myself a Mother Writer, but I am trying to be. Today I did it old-school, with paper and pen and only in a journal, with my 3 mo old on my LEFT breast so that I could continue to write as she ate. How great to read your words which give me so much hope that I will, someday, be able to entertain them with a camera for 10 minutes longer as I grab those words before they become “heavy in my pocket.” LOVE it, love it, love it. You are God’s voice, my friend. Thanks for writing it down so I could hear it.

    • Rachel, You have your hands full these days! So, yeah, write whenever, wherever. Pen and paper, post-it, journal. It will all come together eventually. You should read Sayantani DasGupta’s essay in full, too. It’s an amazing piece, and hits home in so many ways.
      xoxo

  4. I was technically inept a leaving comment on your terrific post at Write It Sideways.

    Here’s my 2 cents. I firmly believe a happy mother makes for happy children (perhaps that’s self-serving, but I’ve seen in play out many times). So although we still always struggle with that balance, at the end of the day, I think our kids like knowing “Mom’s a writer” πŸ˜‰ You said it so beautifully, thanks!

    • Cathryn, I’ve had problems leaving comments on that site before, too. But, thanks for stopping by here to leave yours. A happy mother makes happy children. I agree. That’s another Cathryn-ism I need to post on my laptop on those days when I feel guilty! πŸ™‚

  5. Christi, I just love it! Oh, you said exactly what I think most days. And some days, like today, I’m rewarded in a different way when my girls say, “Mommy, can you get out your computer and write down my story?” Thank you!

Leave a Reply

